Mother’s Day

I am always grateful to celebrate Mother’s Day.  There were many years when I wanted to be a mother and it didn’t happen.  Eventually we found out why it hadn’t, and wasn’t going to, happen naturally.  We had planned to foster eventually, after having our own children, so after being upset for a while we decided to move that plan up.  We found out the news in January 2010, enquired about fostering in March 2010 and in May 2011 I celebrated my first Mother’s Day – then took the kids back to their regular carer.  At that stage we were pretty certain they would be coming to us full time eventually but they were still living with their short term carer. 

That makes this year my third Mother’s Day.  Giggles made a card at preschool that Grumpy had seen and helped him hide in room for me.  What neither of us knew was that his babysitter helped him make another card last Thursday so I got surprised with two cards from him.  Grumpy got Chatterbox to make me a card while I was sleeping in this morning.

I love each and every one of the cards I have been given.  In 2011 Giggles and Chatterbox were only able to stick stickers on to decorate a card.  Last year Giggles did scribbles and Chatterbox cut out pictures from a magazine (mainly of builders – she thought I’d like that!).  This year Giggles did a handprint, wrote his name and drew a person. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

~ Giggles’ hand print from preschool ~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA~ A person: drawn by Giggles ~

Chatterbox drew all these ‘happy’ pictures and wrote the inside of her card (with a few mistakes but I’m quite happy to be “Wowwy” rather than “Mummy”!).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA~ Chatterbox’s “Happy” pictures: a flower, rainbow, heart and smiley face~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA~ “to wowwy love” Chatterbox 🙂 ~

Today, while enjoying my kids and their development, I have also thought about those out there who want to be Mums and can’t be for whatever reason, and for who the day has been hard as they have lost their Mum or their child. 

I will be forever grateful for the chance to be ‘Mummy’ (or ‘Wowwy’!) to my two amazing children – who are the only gift I will ever really need on Mother’s Day.

The Gift of Life
I didn’t give you the gift of life,
But in my heart I know,
The love I feel is deep and real,
As if it had been so.

For us to have each other
Is like a dream come true!
No, I didn’t give you 
The gift of life,
Life gave me the gift of you.
– Unknown Author

This entry was posted in Chatterbox, Foster care, Giggles, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

